Shaniqua

So, I have an alter ego called Shaniqua who comes out only to get my way in customer service situations where I really am in the right or I know the people can work with me. Shaniqua is crazy.

This morning I got a coffee from Dunkin Donuts because I had a 99 cents coupon. The total came to $1.06. I gave the cashier $1.11 so I could have a nickel as change. She hands me 4 cents.

I held the 4 useless pennies in my hand for a minute and then looked at the cashier for a while with dead eyes. I played the scenario through in my mind and knew that Shaniqua was going to erupt from the back of my mind if I pursued this course of action.

It’s not that I was mad at being given a penny less than I was owed; it’s that I now have 4 more pennies, and all I wanted was a nickel. I hate pennies.

But I stopped myself from fighting it. And if y’all know me and have ever met Shaniqua, you should be really damn proud.

H, out.

This entry was posted in Random Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

