My Mini Hellathon

So, I ran a mini marathon two weeks ago. I’m still trying to wrap my head around my accomplishment, and it only makes me emotional to think about it.

I trained for it over the course of three months in the winter in Indiana. A few weeks into my training I switched to barefoot running shoes, and the game changed for me. My stride was changed, my knees stop hurting, and running was just easier.

The race was in Florida at 7AM. It was cool at the start of the race, but by the time I finished, it was hot as hell. I always struggle through the first two miles of any run. The whole time I’m convincing myself why I should stop. Your ankle hurts. You’re too dehydrated for this. You have too much work to do. But once I get through the first two miles, I’m fine. Same at the race.

Miles 3 through 9 or 10ish were relatively easy.

At mile 11, I’d spent some time running without a modicum of shade. Other factors were upsetting me as well. The water in my water bottle was warm, and the water they were giving at the drink stations was warm. When I went through the last drink station, I took two cups of water and Gatorade because I couldn’t stomach the idea of eating my mocha Clif Shot because it was so damn hot, but I need something for energy . I started walking and was absolutely convinced that I was about to die of heat stroke.

As soon as I started walking however, a whiny voice in my head said, “If you walk, this will take even longer.” So, I started running again.

Finished the damn thing, and I have my 13.1 sticker on my car so everyone knows it!

My only goal was that all my miles were under 13 minutes (yes, I’m that slow), and I accomplished that. Most of them were actually under 12 save a few. I also beat my time by 6 minutes.

I’m now in a place where I’ve been looking for my next mini. Right after running it, I was like HELL NO! NEVER AGAIN. But now I’m thinking, it has to happen again because I want to do it in less than 2 hours and 30 minutes.

And now I pass the do-something-crazy-that-you-ever-never-thought-you-would-ever-do pass to you. Get out there. Do something awesome that makes you proud.

H, out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Mini Hellathon

  1. Pingback: Full Circle « Living, Learning, & Searching

  2. Pingback: Florida Holiday Halfathon « Living, Learning, & Searching

Leave a Reply

