Dregs

So, there is nothing as disheartening as sitting in an unemployment office, feeling like you’ve joined the dregs of society. I admit, I had (still kind of have…) a pretty solid opinion of unemployed people. I mean seriously, is it that hard to find a job? Clearly, they are not trying hard enough. I’m learning I was wrong.

After interview #3, I’ve learned a few things. (1) The third time is not a charm. (2) Being charismatic and affable is no longer as useful as it was when you’re competing against 50 other unemployed people who can teach English. (3) The unemployed are not all, in fact, bums.

Anyhow, I had to visit the unemployment office today because I have yet to receive a payment, and it is literally impossible to get a hold of a human when you call in. The automated voice only ever suggests that you check the dwd webpage.

I figured out why my payments are delayed,  but while I sat there filling out the required paperwork, I got a bit emotional. I can’t help but be embarrassed about this situation I can’t control.

H, out.

This entry was posted in Serious Stuffs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dregs

  1. Pingback: Browser ABCs « Living, Learning, & Searching

Leave a Reply

